9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2014 9:30 AM by BoBraxton

My head is spinning!

TroutBum

I'm in my last year prior to retirement and my head is spinning. After returning home from a week at our likely future home I checked the calendar to find that I'm meeting with a banker on Monday and TIAA-CREF counselor on Tuesday. I'm also working with a realtor in regard to an offer we're making, collecting/recording information and weeding out candidates for a building contractor. And I need to call Social Security. And my tax attorney. And while all this is going on I'm keeping up with my day job and trying to stay on pace to complete all the things I promised my boss would happen. I sleep little and eat much, which has added about 10 pounds to the apparently inaccurate set of scales. Isn't this supposed to be fun?

I really do think I've prepared well. I've played by the rules, invested, planned and met all the deadlines. So why are things so crazy? Am I making it harder than it needs to be or am I just taking the necessary steps that everybody takes? How did (or are) the rest of you dealing with all this stuff that needs to be addressed? Momma said there would be days like this!

• Re: My head is spinning!
          BoBraxton

Quite a long time I always thought it would be a whole lot easier just to "keep working." For me it was not so much a choice as an "economic downturn" that affected my former employing organization. For me it has been five years and I still feel like we are sorting things out -- although with some experience "under my belt" I do feel a bit more at ease about all this. We tried a lot less -- remaining in place, where we have lived since 1984, the first house we ever bought (at age 40).

Susanna144