26 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2014 5:16 PM by BoBraxton

Intro & a question

Bia

Hi All,

I am a teacher & about  10 years away from retiring.  I wonder what the value of purchasing a home over renting in retirement would be. I currently rent but would be willing to think about buying a simple home. What I don't want to do is move to a 55 and over community; I'd rather live in a regular neighborhood with all age groups. Any thoughts?

• Re: Intro & a question
          MyR Community Manager

Hi Bia,

I moved your post to the Home topic, as I think this is the best place for you to get responses on this subject. I also invite you to read through some of the other discussions within the Real Estate category, as many others have asked similar questions.

-Genevieve

BoBraxton

I agree with your personal preference to live in a mixed (ages) community. Ours was created near 1970 (soon after) and we were age forty when we purchased (single family, three levels) in the summer, 1984. We have been here about three decades. Our one offspring had just finished seventh grade. By 1993 he graduated from university. We can walk to the home of our two grandchildren in about forty minutes (very close).

JerryD

Whatever you do about a house, carefully consider how much debt for how long you will carry into retirement. We feel much more comfortable without any mortgage.

TJN

This is discussed frequently - about not having a mortgage. Well, it depends - if the house was bought quite some time ago, the mortgage can be quite handle-able. It also depends on where you are - there will be monthly housing costs of some kind everywhere. - in fact with an old mortgage in the Northeast, taxes and insurance can out-strip principal and interest. At today's interest rates, a 200K 30 year mortgage can be under $ 1K a month. Not bad when renting a studio apartment in NYC can be 3K a month.

Chip1979