31 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2014 12:46 PM by MyR Community Manager

Downsizing?

lexi

Hello All,

I am new to this and hoping to hear from seniors in similar situations.  Living in my home for 37 years but had to refinance to give ex his share and now still have a 30 year mtg looming over me.  My social security plus very moderate pension will not be enough to pay my current mtg and the oil bills, etc.  Do I sell and try to purchase a one bedroom co-op cash?  Would this be a smart move financially?

• Re: Downsizing?
          MyR Community Manager

lexi, thank you for creating a new discussion thread! We appreciate and enjoy your participation in the MyRetirement online community and look forward to your future contributions.

The real estate market is on an up swing in most areas.  This would be a good time to think about selling. Moving to something you can physically manage for the long haul before you need to makes sense.  Downsizing will make you more mobile over time.

BoBraxton

Not so similar - spouse and I remain together (since 1967). Personally, I dislike having to take some money action under duress (extreme pressure). For us, I prefer not to downsize (at least for another 15 years or at least another decade) at ages 69 and 70. Our place (indoor space) is small enough as it is. We have lived here since 1984. That means our own 30 years is approaching - coming to a close. We still owe (a little).