6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2014 1:27 PM by Sheryl

social security and student loans

coco2004
      I am 63 years old, and yes, believe it or not I have student loans approaching $70,000.  Would there be any benefit for me to start collecting SS now and use that money to pay down my remaining student loans?  I plan to work another 3 to 5 years in my current career.  I do have a pension plan with the state, I'm a teacher, and will have some money coming in for investments I made while living/teaching overseas.  I am also starting up an 'encore' career in retirement as a travel agent/tour guide.  I am now licensed as a travel agent and will spend the next few years getting the business up and running while I still have a steady paycheck.  I'm not looking to do this fulltime, or even expect to make much money, but it's something I've always wanted to do and decided to make a go of it in retirement. 

My other option, of course, is to just make my monthly student loan payment and call it a day.  Thoughts or advice?  Thank you very much.
        • Re: social security and student loans
          MyR Community Manager

coco2004, thank you for creating a new discussion thread! We appreciate and enjoy your participation in the MyRetirement.org online community and look forward to your future contributions.

Depends on the interest rate you are paying on loans and  the penalty for taking SS early.  You could model this in a spreadsheet with what you would get if you started taking SS now versus what you would get taking SS when you are lets say 67.  Take the payments from SS in both cases and apply them to your loan until the loan is paid off.  Then see what happens.    You could model this out to your life expectancy lets say 92 to see which option gives you the most total return after paying off the loans.