13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2013 1:52 PM by muppie

Medicare Part D - drugs

Buttercup
      I am new to Medicare, starting Jan. 2012. Right now all my prescriptions are generic. I am diabetic. I would like to hear your thoughts about whether it is a good idea to pay for Part D, which plans are best, and should I get Part D when I can get generics from Walmart @ $10 for 3 months. thanks.
        • Re: Medicare Part D - drugs
          JerryD
          I don't think that Part D is optional. You must have some qualified drug plan. Since I have no employer policy, I don't know all of those options. Look on the Medicare web site for info.

I don't have any serious issues as yet so I got the Humana/Wal-Mart generics plan last year and may do so this year. I think that there is a $300 deductible, but it is very cheap compared to others. Check each plan to insure that you can get the drugs you need in their plan. There is a Medicare site that lets you check each to see if they carry your drugs. It isn't fun but you can check specifics. Just remember that Part D can be changed every year if the old one didn't work.
            DrRon
            Just a clarification- Part D is optional. Go to medicare.gov and follow the instructions to compare plans. Plans are specific to where you live; some include vision and hearing as well as prescriptions. Other plans are only for prescriptions. I am in the process of reviewing Part D plans and the information on the medicare site has in extremely helpful.
            Good luck with your search, and don't forget that if you are not pleased with your choice you can change it next year.
                Yes 'D' is optional but if you do not sign up when you become eligable - not working and no health plan - you will pay a pentalty. 
                    DrRon
                    That is correct and I should have included your info. Any suggestions for dental insurance? Medicare part C is not a viable option for me.