11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2013 11:10 AM by herbyreed

My wife's situation

compiler
      OK, I started drawing SS January, 2012 (I reached FRA in June that year, so I get almost 100% of my full benefit).
      My wife just turned 62. I assume she can draw early SS now based on her earnings. If she does that, and say I pass away, can she switch and draw SS based on my earnings? If so, would she draw what I am currently drawing or what I would have drawn at her current age, or?

Mel

• Re: My wife's situation
          MISPROF
          At this point it would be better to have her draw against your SS benefits as a spouse and defer hers until later to allow them to continue to grow until she reaches full retirement age. At a later date she can then draw against her own SS retirement benefits, which would be at the higher rate due to waiting. A spouse can draw spousal benefits or their own, but not both. Drawing spousal benefits does not impair her ability to draw benefits based on her own earnings at any point in the future.
              compiler
              I'm confused. Are you saying that she can draw spousal benefits based on MY earnings despite the fact that I am already drawing benefits? If so, and I pass away, can she continue to draw base on my earnings? My wife retired about 12 years ago, so she is not earning wages.
              Mel

CurtGufe
                I am pretty sure that the spouse, while eligible for starting benefits at age 62, is not free to chose between spousal benefit or own benefit until FRA. Prior to the spouse's FRA, the SSA determines which befit is hgher and pays that amount. Consequently, the spouse is permanently penalized for taking benefits early (before FRA). Again, as far as I understand it, a spouse that takes SS prior to FRA will not get full surviving spouse benefits if these are taken prior to FRA.