8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2013 9:39 AM by Steve51

Take Social Security early in the year you reach FRA?

texasjimbob
      I reach full retirement age (FRA) in 9/2014 and plan to keep working as long as I can.  I read that there are special rules for working and drawing social security in the year that you reach your FRA.  I estimate that I would be quite a bit better off to start drawing a 95.6% early benefit in January rather than wait until I reach FRA in September.  Anyone else doing this? 
        • Re: Take Social Security early in the year you reach FRA?
          compiler
          Yes. I did this. I reached FRA in June, 2012. So, I started drawing SS in Jan (actually first check in Feb), 2012. Works fine. No restrictions on earnings.
          Mel

I am currently 67 years old and working full time. I do not plan to apply for SS benefits until I am at least 70. When do I apply?

BonnieA
                I understand that if you continue to work after you retire, SS will reevaluate your case and if you've been contributing to SS they will increase your benefits after you turn 70.  You might want to check with social security on this.
                  howrub
                  roadbikedc said...
                  I am currently 67 years old and working full time. I do not plan to apply for SS benefits until I am at least 70. When do I apply?

There is a problem with your strategy.  You say you won't take your benefits until "at least 70".  Please re-think, there is NO continued growth in benefit beyond 70, so at 70 you should certainly begin to take it.
                    williaca