3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2009 11:32 AM by janc

Volunteering in relocation country

EJG
      Hello, I am new to myretirement.org.  I am still employed with the University of Washington, with plans to retire in a few years.

I then will hope to relocate to the UK [Edinbugh, Scotland] as a permanent resident, retired status.  While living in Edinburgh I would love to be able to volunteer for a worthy cause or two, specifically in the area of companion or wildlife animal welfare.  I have briefly reviewed the regulations applicable to remaining in the UK  as a permanent retired resident alien.  My interpretation of the issue of volunteerism is that a retired UK resident alien is prohibited from working, and that this prohibition includes non-paid work.

I would be interested to learn if any participants here have relocated to the UK [or to other Euiropean countries] after retirement; have you been allowed to do volunteer work?    If so, did you have to jump through any bureaucratic hoops in order to do so?

I speculate that having pursued educational interests specific to the volunteering venue would be a plus, but I am not
      certain whether any amount of expertise in a particular area could override the rule of no paid or unpaid work for retired non-citizens.

Best regards,
      EJG
        • Re: Volunteering in relocation country
          rr_rolemodel